20
Jul
10

My first recipe

Breakfast for me was either Cheerios and raisins or cottage cheese with raisins, sunflower seeds, and bacon bits.  I can’t eat the cereal or the raisins on a low-fat plan, so I’ve been eating quiche.  It’s an egg-and-bacon breakfast that I only have to microwave.

So after four or five quiches following other people’s recipes, I decided to invent my own.  No more lox and bagel, so here is lox and quiche.

Lox and Cream Cheese Quiche

6 eggs
1/2 cup cream
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper (or to taste)
1 tbsp dill

3 oz smoked salmon, diced
4 oz cream cheese, cut/torn into small chunks
1/4 cup green onions, diced

Preheat oven to 350º.

Whip eggs, cream, salt, pepper, and dill until frothy. Arrange smoked salmon, cream cheese, and green onions in a 9″ pie pan. Pour egg mixture over these.

Bake 35-45 minutes or until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean.

This was so good I ate three servings.

Here are the nutritionals.

Calories Protein Fat Carbs Fiber Net Carbs
Whole Quiche 1568 62g 95g 12.18g 0.69g 11.49
1/6 slice 261 10g 16g 2.03g 0.12 1.92
1/4 slice 392 16g 23g 3.05g 0.17g 2.87g

I have to admit, though, that the first time I made it, I ate 3/4 of it. That’s not on my diet!

0 Responses to “My first recipe”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

